Skip to main content
We've detected that you're using an unsupported browser. You may experience issues using the OA website. Please visit our supported browsers page for more information.

Our History

Regional OA Structure Formed

Regional Order of the Arrow Committees Formed

George Feil, National OA Committee Chairman was known for taking the time to properly consider an idea and then implementing it. In 1975 The National OA Committee under Feil’s guidance created a new regional structure within the OA corresponding with the six BSA regions. The new system had a Regional Committee in each region along with a youth Region Chief and a Regional Chairman who would also serve on the National OA Committee. The usage of youth leadership under adult supervision allowed for more young men to participate at a very high level.

The first Region Chairmen selected were all members of the National OA Committee.

They were:

Northeast Region - Gary Bonas;

Southeast Region - Kenneth P. Davis;

East Central Region - Bob Bradshaw;

South Central Region - Ed Luckett;

and North Central Region - Sid North;

Western Region - George Flanagan.

The regional OA system was an immediate success. It allowed targeted promotion of the NOAC and better dissemination of information. The formation of the Regional OA Committees is the most significant structural change in the OA since 1948 when the National OA Committee was formed.