Skip to main content

Our History

1968 National Planning Meeting

National Conference Planning Meeting

The National Planning Meeting returned to Indiana University at the end of 1968 to plan the 1969 NOAC. Thomas E. Fielder of White Feather Lodge, Paducah, Kentucky was elected National Conference Chief. Later that year, his home lodge would make a special flap patch commemorating Chief Fielder, the beginning of a tradition that exists to this day. Philip Chabot, Nentego Lodge, Bel Air, Maryland was elected Conference Vice Chief. Among the Area Chiefs in attendance was future National Committee Chairman Ed Pease who was selected a Deputy Conference Vice Chief (often called a DCVC). The other DCVC’s selected were John Koepke, Ron Rupp, Dick Acker, Bob Wessels, Joe B. Alexander, Howard Phillips and Brett Kirkpatrick.