Skip to main content

Our History

1960 National Planning Meeting

National Conference Planning Meeting

The 1960 National Planning Meeting was held at the end of the year in Bloomington, Indiana at Indiana University. Ronald J. Temple from Maywood, Illinois, Owasippe Lodge was the first African American elected National Conference Chief. Seven Area Chiefs were appointed Deputy Chiefs. They were Robert Behn, Bobby Carter, Dave Hundt, Tom Sundling, Jack Atkins, Neal Zimmerman and William Hopkins. The assembly of Area Chiefs working with the National OA Committee planned the 1961 NOAC.