Skip to main content
We've detected that you're using an unsupported browser. You may experience issues using the OA website. Please visit our supported browsers page for more information.

Our History

Second National OA Committee Chair

H. Lloyd Nelson becomes Second National OA Committee Chairman

In December of 1949 the President of the BSA appointed H. Lloyd Nelson Chairman of the National Order of the Arrow Committee. G. Kellock Hale Jr. reluctantly submitted his resignation after only one year under doctor’s orders to give up all activities and have complete rest.

The position of Chairman of the National OA Committee was virtually the same as Nelson’s old job as National Chief, when he led the steering committee of the OA. Nelson had been in Scouting in Philadelphia since 1915. He had joined Unami Lodge as a youth. He served on the National OA Committee or its predecessor committee from 1933 when he was elected a Grand Lodge officer until his untimely death while still serving as its Chairman in 1955.